Peregrine's Book Clubs

New members are always welcome! Join one of the groups below or create your own club. The books for each specific month featured in the book clubs will be available at 10% off the listed price.* Ask one of our staff for more details, check our Events page for current book club happenings, or sign up for our email newsletter.

Literary Women & Wine Book Club ONLINE
5 pm • First Thursday of the Month -- Next Meeting August 6, 2020 on Zoom

The Peregrine is proud to inaugurate a curated new bookclub: the WOMEN & WINE Bookclub.

1) Choose wine. Open bottle. Pour wine into glass.

2) Settle into your favorite chair.

3) Join the conversation on Zoom.

Michaela Carter, an author and frontlist buyer for the Peregrine will facilitate this book club with a focus on the best new releases of literary fiction.

Please email Michaela@peregrinebookcompany.com for more information and to sign up.

For August, the group will discuss More Miracle Than Bird by Alice Miller.

On the eve of World War I, twenty-one-year-old Georgie Hyde-Lees—on her own for the first time—is introduced to the acclaimed poet W. B. Yeats at a soirée in London. Although Yeats is famously eccentric and many years her senior, Georgie is drawn to him, and when he extends a cryptic invitation to a secret society, her life is forever changed. 


Contemporary Speculative Fiction Book Club ONLINE
7 pm • Every Monday Evening on Zoom

One of the best ways to understand our world is to study the otherworldly. Delve into a diverse selection of science fiction, fantasy, and horror as we examine how genre themes relate to present-day issues. We are starting with Lovecraft Country by Matt Ruff. Recently featured on the local Rocketfeather podcast, Ruff tries to write fiction about experiences different from his. This masterpiece of cosmic horror does just that by illustrating the experiences of Black people in Jim Crow-era America. Follow two Chicago families as they strive to make it through an onslaught of hatred and suffering pressed upon them by hateful beings from this world and beyond. It's an emotional, harrowing read.

Click Here to Join Weekly Zoom Event 

The book for each specific month will be available at 10% off the listed price*. If purchasing online, use code Cthulhu to claim your discount.
 

Literary Fiction Book Club ONLINE
4:30 pm • Next Meeting Wednesday July 22, 2020 on Zoom

Join us for a reading and discussion of literary works of merit published from 2000 to the present. Novels will be chosen from texts that have won or been considered for awards like the Pulitzer Prize, Man Booker Prize, PEN/Faulkner Award, National Book Award, and others. Selections may also include novels that have been highly acclaimed by reviewers and literary critics. Check out our page on Meetup.com! The book for each specific month will be available at 10% off the listed price.

This month we will discuss the Pulitzer Prize winning Gilead by Marilynne Robinson.

Twenty-four years after her first novel, Housekeeping, Marilynne Robinson returns with an intimate tale of three generations from the Civil War to the twentieth century: a story about fathers and sons and the spiritual battles that still rage at America's heart. Writing in the tradition of Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman, Marilynne Robinson's beautiful, spare, and spiritual prose allows "even the faithless reader to feel the possibility of transcendent order" (Slate). In the luminous and unforgettable voice of Congregationalist minister John Ames, Gilead reveals the human condition and the often unbearable beauty of an ordinary life.


* Please Note: The 10% discount applies to books that are currently in print and available to bookstores.


RESOURCES FOR BOOK CLUBS

Top Ten Tips for Having a Great Book Club Meeting

More Miracle Than Bird Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9781947793767
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tin House Books - June 2nd, 2020

Staff Pick Badge
Lovecraft Country: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062292070
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Perennial - February 14th, 2017

Gilead: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780312424404
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador - January 10th, 2006