Michaela Carter presents her novel Leonora In the Morning Light

Tuesday, April 6th |  6 pm *ONLINE*

Michaela Carter in conversation with art expert Wendi Norris discusses her enthralling new novel, Leonora In the Morning Light. The event is presented in partnership between Changing Hands and Peregrine Book Company. Michaela Carter is author of Further Out Than You Thought, and co-owner of the independent bookstore, the Peregrine Book Company.  Limited number of free tickets available. You can also support Peregrine Book Company by purchasing the book below or by contributing what you can.

Get Tickets 

About the Book

For fans of Amy Bloom’s White Houses and Colm Tóibín’s The Master, this is a page-turning novel about Surrealist artist Leonora Carrington and the art, drama, and romance that defined her coming-of-age during World War II.

London, 1937: Leonora Carrington is a twenty-year-old on the cusp of independence, discovering her own creative powers as a painter, when she falls into a turbulent, passionate love affair with Max Ernst, a married artist twenty-six years older. Determined to break free from her family’s upper-class expectations, she follows him to Paris, where she is thrust into the vibrant, revolutionary world of studios and cafes, where rising visionaries of the Surrealist movement, like Andre Breton, Pablo Picasso, Lee Miller, Man Ray, and Salvador Dali, are challenging conventional approaches to art and life. Inspired by their freedom, Leonora begins to experiment with her own work, translating vivid stories of her youth onto canvas and gaining recognition under her own name—until, suddenly, the shadow of war and occupation begins to spread over Europe, and headlines emerge denouncing Max and his circle as “degenerates.”

Forced to flee France, Max and Leonora are separated, but both begin remarkable journeys that will shape them as artists and individuals. On the run from an internment camp, Max seeks the aid of Peggy Guggenheim, who is helping artists escape from the Nazis, while Leonora, once trapped in a Spanish asylum, begins to claim her identity and unleash the quiet, inner power that will eventually make her one of the most influential women of our time.

Based on true events and historical figures, Leonora in the Morning Light is an unforgettable story of love, art, and destiny that restores a twentieth-century heroine to her rightful place.

About the author

Michaela Carter is a writer, painter, and an award-winning poet. Her novel Further Out Than You Thought was an Indie Next Pick, an Arizona Republic Recommends, and AZ Central’s Best critic’s pick for 2014. Her poetry won the Poetry Society of America, Los Angeles, New Poet’s Prize, has been nominated for Pushcart Prizes, and has appeared in numerous anthologies and journals. She is the cofounder of the independent bookstore The Peregrine Book Company, where she works as a buyer. She lives in Prescott, Arizona, with her husband and two dogs, and she can be visited on the web at MichaelaCarter.com. Her latest work is Leonora in the Morning Light.

About the moderator Wendi Norris 

Wendi Norris started Gallery Wendi Norris, San Francisco in 2011 after co-owning a gallery and working for a decade in Fortune 500 and start-up technology companies. Her gallery team represents critically acclaimed artists and artist estates, working to ensure that they are included in international museum and private collections, top-tier exhibitions and publications around the world. Norris served as the San Francisco Art Dealers Association President from 2014-2016 and is currently on the Board of the Art Dealers Association of America. She has twice been named one of the Most Influential Women in Bay Area Business by the San Francisco Business Times.

Norris worked directly with Leonora Carrington during the last decade of her life and her gallery has been the primary global representative of her art since her death in 2011. The gallery has produced three solo exhibitions (Leonora Carrington: The Talismanic Lens, 2008; Leonora Carrington: The Celtic Surrealist, 2014; and Leonora Carrington: The Story of the Last Egg, 2019) and two publications (Leonora Carrington: The Talismanic Lens, 2008 and Leonora Carrington: The Story of the Last Egg, 2020) on Carrington's work.

Event date: 

Tuesday, April 6, 2021 - 6:00pm to 7:30pm

Event address: