Staff Picks January 2017

dance, dance, danceweatheringall the birds, singinga place called homeThrough the WoodsHerzog

Herzog
by Saul Bellow

Reflections on past mistakes with friends, enemies, family and lovers through anecdotes and unsent letters, Moses Herzog sifts through the highs and lows of his life in order to understand what has brought him to his current state. Semi-autobiographical, humorous and painful, Bellow writes directly from the heart with bare honesty and emotion. —Joe

Through the Woods
by Emily Carroll

These stories are spooky. Plain and simple. Odd little creepies round every corner. I highly recommend this book to anyone that may not be a fan of comic books but loves a good scary tale. I also highly recommend this book to all the comic book fanatics out there. For fans of Neil Gaiman and Joe Hill. —Jon

A Place Called Home
by Mr. Jason Grant

Jason Grant’s job is styling homes for photo shoots, but he doesn’t believe we need to create these “perfect” homes in real life. In A Place Called Home, Jason shows that the most inspiring homes are relaxed, casual, and have good energy and aren’t just filled with designer furniture. A great book even if you’re just needing something for your coffee table. —Lacey

All the Birds, Singing
by Evie Wyld

Jake, a newcomer to the wind-raked English community where she runs her sheep farm alone, suspects an unknown animal is killing her flock one by one. With great concision and sensory vividness her tale emerges memory by memory, a tale of guilt, debasement and extraordinary resilience whose horrors are more ordinary than supernatural. —Reva

Weathering
by Lucy Wood

Atmospheric and beautiful. A mix between Neil Gaiman and Colm Toibin. Each character weathers their own storms in a whirlwind of images and feelings, twisting in a maelstrom of time and memory. Ghostly echoes of real life; mistakes and mourning, smiles and satisfaction. —Jon

Dance, Dance, Dance
by Haruki Murakami

A mystery wrapped in an enigma, smothered in serendipitous secret sauce. … Dreams and nightmares dance with reality in this strange and suspenseful tale. A Sheep-Man on a non-existing floor in a eerie hotel. A young girl with psychic capabilities and a love for the Talking Heads (among other musical groups) tries to help the unnamed narrator find his lost love. —Joe